This past Labor Day weekend I celebrated my 52nd birthday. I know most ladies don’t like to give up their age, but I don’t mind. Each year is a blessing. My husband and I traveled to Jackson, Mississippi to visit a dear friend who is a recent widow. It was my first time in Mississippi. We had a great time and the food was so good. As a last summer fling, I decided to enjoy myself and not stress out over dieting. If you find yourself in the Jackson, Mississippi area, you need to make sure you visit “The Country Fisherman” restaurant located at 3110 HWY 80 W. They have a seafood buffet on Friday and Saturday nights that is out of this world. The boiled shrimp are seasoned to perfection and the fried catfish has a crispy delicate coating that is the best I’ve ever had. Everything on the buffet was good including the scrumptious desert bar. Needless to say I didn’t loose any weight, but more importantly, I didn’t gain any pounds either.

I did exercise while I was away to help compensate for the increased calories. I walked and did a sequence of core strengthening exercises. I’ve found that using exercise bands allows you to add resistance to your workout to build muscle, but they don’t take up much room in your luggage and you can use them anywhere.

Well summer is over and I’m back on track. Now if I can just eliminate some of the desserts and refined sugar in my diet, I think I’ll be in good shape. 🙂 Get it… good shape!

This brings me to my question of the day:

  1. What are your favorite healthy foods to eat while loosing weight?

I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

Lori

